Organization and Management Theory OMT

Webinar: Advancing Theory with Review Articles

  • 1.  Webinar: Advancing Theory with Review Articles

    Posted 18 days ago

    Webinar: Advancing Theory with Review Articles

    Speakers: Professor Caroline Gatrell and Professor John E. Prescott


    The purpose of this webinar is to propose a multi‐faceted approach for fashioning theoretical contributions in review articles, which we hope will inspire more authors to develop and submit innovative, original, and high‐quality theory‐building review articles. We argue that advancing theory with review articles requires an integrative and generative approach. We propose a non‐exhaustive set of avenues for developing theory with a review article: exposing emerging perspectives, analyzing assumptions, clarifying constructs, establishing boundary conditions, testing new theory, theorizing with systems theory, and theorizing with mechanisms.

    Time: Thursday, 29th of April at 10am (U.S. Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 7.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

    Registration: Please register here to receive a personalized Zoom link and a reminder for this event.


    Recommended reading
    :

    • Post, C., Sarala, R., Gatrell, C. and Prescott, J.E. (2020), Advancing Theory with Review Articles. Journal of Management Studies, 57: 351-376. https://doi.org/10.1111/joms.12549


    Panel speakers:

    • Caroline Gatrell, Professor of Organization Studies, University of Liverpool
    • John E. Prescott, Thomas O'Brien Chair of Strategy, University of Pittsburgh


    If you have any questions, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.



    ------------------------------
    Ibrat Djabbarov
    PhD Candidate
    Cranfield School of Management
    ------------------------------